For Emergency Claim Assignments, CALL (877) 344-0624

The National Association of Independent Insurance Adjusters is an association of independently-owned property and casualty claims adjusting companies located throughout the United States.

  • Local •
  • Loyal •
  • Leaders

New Licensing Option for Independent Insurance Adjusters

NAIIA Members, I bring some intriguing news delivered by Peter Schifrin. He reported on this topic for the CAIIA and is sharing his research with us.

The Universal Claims Certification (UCC) program, created by the Claims and Litigation Management Alliance (CLM), has been approved by the following states: Alabama, California, Florida, Georgia, Mississippi, and Texas. The UCC is a new process to obtain an independent adjuster license in any of the approved states. Both licensed adjusters and those without a license can acquire a UCC. Unlicensed adjusters must complete a 40-hour course and exam to acquire the UCC. Once an adjuster has the UCC, they can quickly obtain a license in states where the UCC is approved, including California.

Adjusters who handle claims in multiple states will be able to use the UCC to obtain licenses as additional states are added. The goal of the UCC is to be accepted by all states requiring licensing and to become the clearinghouse for adjusters to acquire the state licensing they need to work anywhere in the country.

For a licensee to maintain the UCC, he or she must complete 24 hours of continuing education every two years, including five hours of insurance law and ethics. The UCC program's insurance law and ethics requirement exceeds California's required three hours of ethics that is a part of and not in addition to the 24-hour continuing education requirement. The CLM anticipates that registration for the UCC will be open in a few weeks. More about the UCC is available at

A big thank you to Peter Schifrin (Past CAIIA President, President of SGD, and Past RVP Western Region NAIIA) for taking the time and effort to share this news with our members.